Skip to main content

Researching Majors and Careers - Osceola Campus: Databases

A guide designed to help SLS students on the Osceola Campus research careers, majors, and 4-year colleges.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

At times you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

 

Databases

The following databases will help you to research your assignment:

 

General Career Databases

Fergusons Career Guidance Center: The Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.

 

Career-Specific Databases

Applied Science and Technology Full Text: This database may help you locate information on various careers in the applied science field, such as engineering, health science careers, and environmental science, among others

Business Source Complete: Because it indexes the Occupational Outlook Handbook and Occupational Outlook Quarterly, Business Source Complete is a great database to find information on the demand and earning potential of your career.

Education Research Complete: Education Research Complete can help any students who are looking into a career in education at any level, by providing career information and case studies.

America's Newspapers: This database indexes more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as Florida newspapers and their Spanish editions when available.

 

Browse the library's database subscriptions to find more sites that are applicable to your specific career.

Osceola Campus Librarian