Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Nater) - Way to Improve Health assignment: Databases

This LibGuide may be used with Essay #3: Examine ONE way people could improve their health.

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner of the "Courses" tab. When the Library Catalog page opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. You will need to login now. The Login button is at the top right corner of the screen. To do that you will need to enter your VID Valencia Identification number (your "V" number) including the "V" in the box for Borrower's ID. Your PIN will be the last 4 digits of your "V" number.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. These are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you want in the list, click on it to connect.

*** NOTE *** Sometimes you may be prompted to use your Borrower’s ID and PIN to access an article that has been emailed or posted. Use your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) as the Borrower’s ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

Medical Databases

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources

 

Health Reference Center Academic  An advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals found in the Health & Wellness Resource Center. Does not include reference sources or the Alternative Health suite of resources. 

 

Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition  provides nearly 540 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 570 journals.

 

Nursing & Allied Health Collection All aspects of the Nursing profession -- from direct patient care to health care administration -- are covered in this collection. Including nearly 400 titles, this collection's current and authoritative content will be of use to both professionals already working in the field as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.

 

News Database


 

Access World News is the most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, and provides extensive coverage of news at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. You can also look at articles solely from the Orlando Sentinel.

Other Database

Popular Magazines contains full-text articles from 1,000 of the most searched magazines including Time, National Geographic, The New Yorker, Newsweek, Vanity Fair, US News and World Report, Vogue, Fortune, Cosmopolitan, NPR, Oprah, and many more. This database has broad appeal and could help with many different topics.

Current Event/Issues Databases

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

 

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society offers articles on a number of controversial issues, including topics such as adoption, dieting, family issues, stem cell research, euthanasia, free speech and censorship, and many more.

Librarian Osceola Campus

Cheryl Ann Livingston's picture
Cheryl Ann Livingston
Contact:
Reference Desk 321-697-4154

Office 321-697-4957