Skip to main content

Humanities Research (Adams): Databases

This guide is designed to help students conduct research on art topics in Will Adams' humanities course at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the screen or in the in the upper right corner of the "Courses" tab. When the Library Catalog page opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. Click on the big yellow Search button. You will need to login now. The Login button is at the top right corner of the screen. To do that you will need to enter your VID Valencia Identification number (your "V" number) including the "V" in the box for Borrower ID. Your PIN will be the last 4 digits of your "V" number.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. Both tabs are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you would like to use, click on it to access it.

*** NOTE *** Sometimes you may be prompted to use your Borrower ID and PIN to access an article that has been emailed or posted. Use your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) as the Borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Art & Humanities Databases

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s.

Art Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. This database provides over 600 full-text journals, more than 220 full-text books, and a collection of over 63,0000 images.

Humanities Source is designed to meet the needs of students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. The collection includes full text for more than 1,400 journals, with citations to over 3.5 million articles, including book reviews. Coverage in Humanities Source includes worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

World Folklore and Folklife is the best database to find more about myths or mythological figures that may be the subject of your work of art. Many religious stories are also included.

 

World Religions contains some information about Greco-Roman mythology. When you open the database, look for the "Religions" tab at the top of the page. On the next page, click "Greco-Roman" under the "Traditional Religions" heading.

 

Biography Databases

Biography in Context

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text. This database will help you obtain background information on your artist's life.

 

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times). This database is a good resource for 20th century artists and movements, as well as musicians (i.e. Marcel Duchamp, Bob Dylan, pop art)

Music Databases

To use these databases for songs, search for your song title as "Title of Work"

 

http://gale.cengage.co.uk/images/artemis_lit.jpg

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, but also contains analyses and biographies for many of the songs and artists on the 20th Century Humanities list.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text literature database, but also contains analyses and biographies for many of the songs and artists on the 20th Century Humanities list.

 

History Databases

World History Ancient & Medieval Eras

World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras is the best resource to find out what was happening during ancient and medieval history. You can identify the era in which your artwork is from, and see what occurred during that time that may have influenced it.

 

World History: The Modern Era is the best resource to find out what has happened historically since the 1500s. You can identify the era in which your artwork is from, and see what occurred during that time that may have influenced it.

 

History Reference Center contains full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, nearly 60 history magazines, 58,000 historical documents, 43,000 biographies of historical figures, more than 12,000 historical photos and maps, and 87 hours of historical film and video.

Multidisciplinary Databases

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences. This database should help you search for information on your art movement, as well as criticism on your featured work of art. Music articles can be found here, as well.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more. You will be able to find general information on your artist here, as well as some information on the art movements.

Art Image Databases

ARTSTOR

The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data. This database will help you find images of your work of art or artist.