Skip to main content

What Is A Database And How Do I Use It?: How To Access Valencia Databases

This guide is designed for students that are unfamiliar with databases, such as many EAP students, and how they are used in research.

Connecting to the Library via Atlas

To Connect to the Library via Atlas:

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu

2. Click the Courses Tab

3. Click Search the Library (under Register For Classes).

What are my Borrower ID and PIN?

If you reach the Valencia Database page through a link in Blackboard or a professor's website instead of going through Atlas, you will be asked to enter a Borrower ID and pin number.

Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID card. Most often, this number is your VID number. (On cards issued prior to August 12, 2008, you will see a 14-digit barcode number instead.) If you do not yet have a Valencia ID, enter your VID number as the Borrower ID.

Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Accessing Databases Through Atlas

The video below illustrates how to locate the library databases through Atlas. Note: For optimal viewing click the square in the lower right corner of the video to expand to full screen.

Three Steps To Database Research

There are three steps to finding a scholarly article in a database. They are:

1. Choosing A Database

2. Searching A Database

3. Accessing An Article

The next three tabs in this libguide will guide you through each step of this process.

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page