Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Dieckmann) - Compare-Contrast Two Local Non-Profit Organizations: Home

Assignment

For this assignment you will compare and contrast to inform, persuade and engage a reader about volunteering for local non-profit organizations.

MLA Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Finding Non-Profit Organizations in Orlando

Using Google to Find Local Organizations

Try Google searching

with and without 'non profit'

with 'Orlando' or 'Central Florida'

with a word of your interest such as 'child' for children, 'reading' or 'literacy, 'cancer support', 'wildlife rescue' etc.

Or look up a national organization and search for a local chapter.

Additional Information

Use the library databases to find additional information on your organizations. This could be articles about the organization or articles on the issue (e.g. animal overpopulation, children with cancer, etc.)

Logging In to Databases

To access databases, follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab.
  3. From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
  4. Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
  5. From LibGuides, do a search for Dieckmann

Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page