Skip to main content

Guide To Tablets & Apps At East Campus Library: Communications & English

Information on iPads and a list of most pre-installed apps on East Library iPads as well as recommended apps. This guide is optimized for the Firefox browser. Use Firefox if images appear blurry or distorted in other browsers.

App Reviews and Tips

Use these sources to keep track of new apps and find quick reviews.

English

Denotes an East Library pre-installed application

Shakespeare
The complete works of Shakespeare all in one free app. Customize font, colors, and more to create your own ideal reading experience

Poetry From The Poetry Foundation
Contains thousands of classic and contemporary poems from greats like Walt Whitman, Emily Dickinson and William Blake, to Billy Collins

3D Classic Literature Collection
High quality 3D book engine with a large collection of complete unabridged classics, such as Ulysses, Oliver Twist, The Art Of War, Dracula and more.

The Poetry App
One hundred poems by 16 famous poets. Features audio readings of the poems from famous actors, the ability to add and record your own poems, biographical information and other features

Sounds: The Pronunciation App
Excellent prounciation aid and ideal for EAP students. The pro version also includes pronunciation quizzes.

Merriam Webster Dictionary HD*
Optimized for the iPad, use voice search, Word of The Day, audio pronunciations, sentence examples and synonyms/antonyms.

Learn English (Hello - Hello)
Learn English from your mobile device, which includes fun animated videos.  A good app for ESL students.

Free Books - 23,469 Classics To Go
Convenient access to a virtual library with bookmarking, notes, and a dictionary. Import your own ebooks and link with Dropbox

My TOEFL*
Designed to prepare students for taking the computer and paper based TOEFL test. Covers all of the main topics in the TOEFL English test. A $60 value.

Speech

Denotes an East Library pre-installed application

Presenter Pro
Designed for improving public speaking, with helpful templates, access to power points and other resources with bookmarking for easy access

Public Speaking Pal
Created by the College of Public Speaking, this apps helps with introductions, humor, building and maintaining audience attention and staying on topic.

Backdraft
App that allows you to compose Tweets in advance and release them at key points in your speech to your audience. The potential to send a link to a supplementary video or presentation slides via Twitter is astounding.

Prompster*
Serves as a teleprompter with scrolling and is useful for practicing speeches. Speeches can also be created and edited in documents and imported/exported via Dropbox. The pro version allows for audio and video recording of practice speeches to playback for improvement.

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page