Skip to main content

Ask The Matador Research Guides: Sonnet Forms

Quick start research guides to hundreds of assignments given at Valencia East Campus.

Resources

Sonnet Forms

Sonnets are poems that are fourteen lines long and that follow certain rules regarding rhyming.  The two basic sonnet forms are the Italian or Petrarchan form and the English or Shakespearean form.  

                         

LINNCWeb online catalog – Search Terms

·     literary terms (Keywords)

·     sonnet (Keyword)

Call Numbers for Browsing the Shelves

·               PN41

·               PN701

·               PR1195

·               PR2848

Circulating Books – A Selected List

·               Feldman, Paula R. (Ed.). A Century of Sonnets. 1999.

Call Number:  PR1195 .S5 C46 1999  (See pgs. 3-19.)

·               Gaskell, Philip. Landmarks in European Literature. 1999.

Call Number:  PN701 .G37 1999  ( See pgs. 15-18.)

·               Swisher, Clarice (Ed.). Readings on the Sonnets of William Shakespeare. 1997.

Call Number:  PR2848 .R38 1997  (See pgs. 36-38.)

·               Vendler, Helen. The Art of Shakespeare's Sonnets. 1999.

Call Number:  PR2848 .V46 1999

Reference Materials

·               Benet's Reader's Encyclopedia (4th Ed.).Call Number: REF PN41 .B4 1996      

o   Pgs. 964-966

·               Concise Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms. –  Call Number: REF PN41 .C67 1990

o   Pgs. 207-208

·               Dictionary of Literary Terms (4th Ed.). - Call Number: REF PN41 .C83 1998 

o   Pgs. 661-662, 813-814, 843-848

·               Glossary of Literary Terms (8th Ed.).  –  Call Number: REF PN41 .A184 2005

o   Pgs. 299-300

·               Handbook to Literature (8th Ed.).  –  Call Number: REF PN41 .H355 2000 

o   Pgs. 488-489

Research Databases

To access Valencia’s research databases, open your Atlas account, select ‘Search the Library’, then select ‘Databases A-Z’.

·               Academic Search Complete

·               OmniFile Full Text Mega

This Research Guide is designed to help users find information on a particular topic within the Valencia College East Campus Library.  This is by no means a comprehensive list of resources and other resources may be available on this topic.  Please check the LINCCWeb, VCC East’s online catalog, to verify the availability of circulating books within the library.  Feel free to ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.

Copyright 2006

Valencia College East Campus Library

Last Revised on September 21, 2006

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page