Skip to main content

PSY 2930 (Ciesko) - Psychology Of Peace: Psychology & Peace Studies Databases

A research guide for students' Professor Ciesko's Psychology of Peace course.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu

2. Click Search the Library (upper right corner on the MyAtlas tab).

When  Atlas is not working, you can click the green Databases box below to log into the databases. You will be prompted to log in using your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Psychology

The following databases are available through the library, and are appropriate for use by psychology students:

Note: Links will work only if you have logged into the library through Atlas first.

American Psychological Association

*PsycArticles (Professor Preferred Resource) Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

APA citation examples for PsycArticles

Infotrac Psychology Collection This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals

APA Citation Examples For Infotrac Psychology Collection

Academic Search Complete Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 5,300 full-text periodicals, including 4,400 peer-reviewed journals.

APA citation examples for Academic Search Complete

 

 

General One File  Includes more than 4,200 full-text titles covering a wide range of topics including psychology, peace, and conflict studies.

APA citation examples for General One File

 

Social Sciences Full Text covers all of the social sciences, and has a lot of great information on issues such as gender and family studies, social change and culture.

APA citation examples for Social Sciences Full Text

Sage Journals (Sage Publications) SAGE is the world’s 5th largest journals publisher. SAGE includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Science, Technology, and Medicine. More than 280 are published on behalf of 225 learned societies and institutions.

APA citation examples for Sage Journals

OmniFile Full Text Mega Edition from WilsonWeb includes access to full-text periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, technology, science, art, business, and more. Many articles can be found on various aspects of modern slavery.

APA citation examples for Omnifile

Locate a Journal Article

Locate a specific journal article or title by searching our A-Z Journal ListingClick here to watch a quick video.

Simply type in the journal's name and click on Go, for example search for the International journal of peace studies. You can search within that specific publication after clicking the title. You can also locate the volume and date of a specific article.

Ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.