Skip to main content

DEP 2004 (Ciesko) - Developmental Psychology: Psychology Databases

A research guide for students' Professor Ciesko's Developmental Psychology course.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu

2. Click Search the Library (upper right corner on the MyAtlas tab).

When  Atlas is not working, you can click the green Databases box below to log into the databases. You will be prompted to log in using your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Psychology

The following databases are available through the library, and are appropriate for use by psychology students:

Note: Links will work only if you have logged into the library through Atlas first.

American Psychological Association

*PsycArticles (Professor Preferred Resource) Provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals - 48 published by the American Psychological Association (APA) and 11 from allied organizations. It includes all journal articles, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to present.

APA citation examples for PsycArticles

Infotrac Psychology Collection This collection gives individuals a basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the human mind develops -- and diminishes -- over time. Your library's users will have instant access to 200 subject-appropriate full-text periodicals

APA Citation Examples For Infotrac Psychology Collection

CINAHL provides full-text access to more than 560 journals from the fields of nursing and allied health, including bio-medicine, alternative medicine, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines.  Results can be limited to Evidence-Based Practice.

APA citation examples for CINAHL

Health Reference Center Academic offers an advanced interface to the full-text nursing and allied health journals dating back to 1980 in the Health and Wellness Resource Center. There are many psychology-related journals ranging from general coverage, to developmental and cognitive psychology.  Also includes current editions of newsletters, pamphlets, newspaper articles, topical overviews and reference books.

APA citation examples for Health Reference Center Academic

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, Internet web sites, encyclopedias and other reference sources including the Medical and Health Information Directory and PDR Family Guides. Includes an alternative health module and multimedia library of over 700 videos from the Healthology consumer health library.

APA citation examples for Health & Wellness Resource Center

Medline with Full-Text has full-text journal articles for nearly 1,200 journals with coverage dating back to 1965. Includes information from a broad spectrum of medical fields, such as nursing, psychology, psychiatry, and psychotherapy.

APA citation examples for Medline with Full-Text

Locate a Journal Article

Locate a specific journal article or title by searching our A-Z Journal ListingClick here to watch a quick video.

Simply type in the journal's name and click on Go, for example search for the International journal of peace studies. You can search within that specific publication after clicking the title. You can also locate the volume and date of a specific article.

Ask a librarian for help if you need further assistance.