Skip to main content

Political Science (Lair): Databases

A guide to help students conduct research in Professor Lair’s political science classes.

Current Events Databases

Need the news?  Did you know that academic journal articles can take up to 18 months to be published? Sometimes newspapers can be the best way to get credible up to date sources. These databases are a great place to start looking for online articles


Watch out for the following:
"Op-Ed" and "Opinion" - These type of stories are opinion based and should only be used as such.

History Databases

American Government explains the foundations of our government, connects these concepts to the issues of the day, and examines the strengths and weaknesses of the political and economic systems of the United States by comparing them to those of other countries.

 

 American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

 

 History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

World History: The Modern Era (covering history from the Renaissance to today) is the latest update of the reference standard of electronic history reference materials for students and researchers seeking accurate, authoritative, and comprehensive materials on modern history.

Biography Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. 

 

Biography Index cites biographical articles appearing in any of more than 3,000 periodicals, plus some 2,000 current books of individual and collective biography published each year, and biographical material in otherwise non-biographical books. 

Accessing Databases

Click here to access the online library:

Click Here

***If you are asked for a login,  use your Borrower ID (your VID number) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.