Skip to main content

IDH 2911 (Interdisciplinary Studies East): History Databases

This guide is for students of IDH 2911 research track.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu

2. Click Search the Library (upper right corner on the MyAtlas tab).

When  Atlas is not working, you can click the green Databases box below to log into the databases. You will be prompted to log in using your Borrower ID and PIN. Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID, and the PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. 

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

History

The following databases are available through the library, and are appropriate for history students.

 

 

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a general databases that focuses on many discplines, including hundreds of history periodicals and resources.

 

Salem History contains online versions of serveral print reference series such as the Decades series, Milestone Documents, Great Lives from History, and Great Events from History.

 

JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available, including numerous historical periodicals with coverage dating back to a hundred years or more.

 

 

 

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

American Indian Experience is an invaluable digital resource that provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America.

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present (from 1900 to current times).

World at War is a comprehensive database that contains information and unique insights into the military conflicts that have defined the world's identity from its modern beginning to today.

African American Experience has the widest depth and breadth of information available of any online database collection on African American history and culture.

Latino American Experience is the first-ever database dedicated to the history and culture of Latinos—the largest, fastest growing minority group in the United States

 

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page