Skip to main content

Databases Guide for English Students: Introduction

revised with "applicable" category replaced by "used for"

How to Access the Databases

1. To access the databases, log into your Atlas account.
2. Select the Courses tab.

3. Locate the Libraries box in the right column and select "Search the Library."


4.
Once the library catalog opens, select either "Databases A-Z" or "Databases by Subject" from above the search box.


5. Select a database to connect.

(To learn more about a database, click the icon to the right of the database name.)


NOTE: Attempting to access databases without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID number and PIN. If you prefer to use your VID and PIN, select "search quickly now" from the Search the Library box on the library homepage.

 

Introduction

 

This online guide is designed to provide user-friendly descriptions of databases pertinent to the English discipline. As you can see above, there is a separate tab for each of the databases included in this guide. On the right side of this screen, you will also see the databases listed by category for which assignments and research they are most used. You may browse each database by its respective tab, or select databases based on the assignment/research colum on the right.

In order to access the databases, you will need to follow the steps in the column on the left side of the screen.

If you have any questions regarding these databases, or any others that the college subscribes to, please contact one of the college's libraries. You may also use this contact information for any other library-related assistance you are seeking. If you are seeking assistance outside the operating hours of the libraries, you may contact Ask-a-Librarian, a statewide reference service, by either live chat, text or email.

For more information about services and assistance provided by the campus libraries, please visit their homepage.

 

Databases by Assignment/Research


NOTE: Attempting to access databases without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID number and PIN. If you prefer to use your VID and PIN, select "search quickly now" from the Search the Library box on the library homepage.

Literary Works & Authors

Lit Finder

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literature Criticism Online

 

Short Stories

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Lit Finder

Literary Reference Center Plus

Literature Criticism Online

 

Poets & Poetry

Lit Finder


Graphic Novels & Film

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR


Argumentative Essays & Speeches

Academic Search Complete

Issues and Controversies

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society


Current Events

Issues and Controversies

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

Opposing Viewpoints


Research Papers

Academic Search Complete

JSTOR

Issues and Controversies

Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society

Opposing Viewpoints