Skip to main content

iPad Resources For Social Science Faculty (East Campus): Social Science & Physical Education

This guide is designed to provide resources and information for faculty interested in using the iPad during classroom lectures. This guide looks best in Firefox. Use Firefox if images appear distorted in Chrome or Edge.

App Reviews and Tips

Use these sources to keep track of new apps and find quick reviews.

Social Sciences

Denotes an East Library pre-installed application

MyCongress
Access to detailed information about U.S. elected congressmen. Updated for the 113th congress, provides news, twitter feeds, and videos for congressmen.

The Great War 100
Learn all about World War I, or The Great War through over 100 stylish info graphics.

US Historical Documents
Provides instant access to over 200 primary source American documents, including The Gettysburg Address, I Have A Dream Speech and many more.

The Congressional Record
Daily edition of the Congressional Record dating from 1995 to the present. Includes debates, proceedings and other activities of the US Congress.

The Revolution: Interactive Guide
An interactive supplementary text book that would be useful for U.S. History students.

Psychguide
Psychology student survival guide written by two experts in the field.

3D Brain
Navigate 29 different zones of the brain. Details brain functions, disorders, mental illness,case studies and links to modern research.

Sociology Spotlight
Latest information on sociology conferences, books, articles abstracts, videos and more. Bookmark content, find free syllabi's, and search the latest news and blogs.

Google Earth*
Powerful geography tool that incorporates 3D views, maps, historic sites, street views and much more.

World War II Interactive*
One of the highest rated iPad apps, provides a comprehensive portrait of WW II with pictures, text, videos and speeches.

Physical Education

Denotes an East Library pre-installed application

BMI Calculator
A simple and effective app that lets you calculate your BMI.

MyFitness Pal
Five star app that provides a food database for calorie counting and the ability to track your diet and nutrition, including a bar code scanner for entering foods when you are shopping.

Fitness HD
Photos and instruction for over 700 exercises designed for men and women. Includes 50 YOGA poses, 100 ready made workouts, and other features.

Human Kinetics
The latest information on exercise, sports, physical education, fitness and more. Includes articles, books and videos.

WebMD
Access to symptoms, drug interactions, first aid info, conditions, and pill identification tools. Geo-locates nearest medical facilities if needed.

Fast Food Calories
Help stay on track even when eating fast food with this handy guide to over 20,000 fast food meals. Includes nutrition, menus, and a food log to track your eating.

Subject Guide

Erich Heintzelman's picture
Erich Heintzelman
Contact:
Valencia College - East Campus
701 N. Econlockhatchee Trail
Office: Building 4-217
Phone: 407-582-2886
Website / Blog Page