Skip to main content

GEB 1101 (Chesler) - Business Plans: Databases

This guide will help students conduct research for Professor Chesler's classes at the Osceola Campus

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the lower right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

  Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Helpful Databases

Hoovers Premium is the leading Business database available to Valencia College students. This is the best place to research your company and its history.

 

Small Business Resource Center contains over 600 sample business plans.

 

Business Source Complete contains full-text journal articles, financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.

 

Newsstand (ProQuest) contains newspaper articles from global papers, and can be a good resource to find industry trends, leaders, and current events.

 

DemographicsNow provides up-to-date resources on demographics and extensive market level information.

Other Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.  

Orlando Sentinel provides free online coverage of the Orlando Sentinel archives. This can help you do local research on communities and competition.

 

O*Net Online compiles career information, which can help you determine salaries at the national and state level.

 

World Geography is a great place to start when researching a country. You can find information on a country's history, government, society, economy, culture, and more.

 

Global Road Warrior has a wealth of information on facts for every country around the world. Simply search for your country or choose it from the drop-down list to learn more about its demographics, education, money & banking, and much more.

 

Osceola Campus Librarian