Skip to main content

SPC 1608 (Pierre): Databases

This guide is designed to assist students in Professor Pierre's SPC 1608 class at Osceola campus.

Accessing Databases

There are two ways to access the databases at Valencia College Libraries:

1) Log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the left side of the screen or in the in the upper right corner of the "Courses" tab. When the Library Catalogpage opens, you will already be logged in.

2) Start at any Valencia Web Page and select Libraries on Quick Links. Click on the big yellow Search button. You will need to login now. The Login button is near the top right corner of the screen. To do that you will need to enter your VID Valencia Identification number (your "V" number) including the "V" in the box for Borrower ID. Your PIN will be the last 4 digits of your "V" number.

Once the Library Catalog opens and you are logged in, you can choose the database you want either from the “Databases A-Z” tab or from the “Databases by Subject” tab. Both tabs are located at the top above the catalog. When you find the database you would like to use, click on it to access it.

*** NOTE *** Sometimes you may be prompted to use your Borrower ID and PIN to access an article that has been emailed or posted. Use your VID Valencia Identification number (with the V) as the Borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Helpful Search Tips

  • injur* will retrieve resources with any words beginning "injur" such as injury, injuries, injure, injured, injuring, injurious
  • "arms control" will only retrieve resources that use the phrase "arms control" with the words next to each other, instead of retrieving items which talk about both arms and control but possibly in different sentences, different paragraphs and even in a different context.
  • Football NOT Soccer will retrieve resources about Football but not Soccer.

Controversial Topic Databases

HINT ***

Controversial Topic Databases do have Viewpoint or Opinion Essays but they also have Journal Articles (many scholarly), Reference Articles, Statistics & more that can be useful to you for your researching even if you aren't working on a Pro & Con, Persuasive or Argument project.

 

Choosing a Topic

Two of our databases are excellent sources of ideas for topics!

  • In Opposing Viewpoints simply click Browse Issues to look at a list of major topics or scroll down to see Subject Areas and click View All to see topics within that subject area.
  • In Issues & Controversies click on All Issues by Subject or All Issues A to Z.

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to web sites.

 

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science related, health related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

General Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Access World News is the most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers globally, and provides extensive coverage of news at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. You can also look at articles solely from the Orlando Sentinel.

Specialized Databases

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

 

Health and Wellness Resource Center offers access to full-text nursing and allied health journals, encyclopedias and other reference sources.

 

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present-in a package as dynamic as the topic it covers. New technology (iPods, gaming, gadgets)...Internet memes and chatspeak...movies, TV, radio...music...comics and graphic novels...sports and pastimes...fads, fashion, and fast food: pop culture brings us together as a people.

 

GreenFile

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

Oxford Art Online

Oxford Art Online provides web access to the text of The Dictionary of Art, which covers all aspects of the visual arts of every civilization from prehistory to the 1990s.

Osceola Campus Librarian

Cheryl Ann Livingston's picture
Cheryl Ann Livingston
Contact:
Reference Desk 321-697-4154

Office 321-697-4957