Skip to main content

Criminal Justice (Johnson): Databases

A research guide created for students in Professor Johnson's criminal justice courses at the Osceola Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases below, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right under the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Click on the database you want to search in the alphabetical list to connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

Sometimes you may be prompted to log into the library site using a borrower ID and PIN. Use your VID number (with the V) as the borrower ID. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Criminal Justice/Social Science Databases

The databases below are focused on Criminal Justice / Social Science and are good starting points for researching criminal justice topics.

ProQuest Criminal Justice is a comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends.

APA citation examples for ProQuest Criminal Justice

 

Image result for info Trac criminal justice

InfoTrac Criminal Justice eCollection (Gale) is a comprehensive periodical collection supporting criminal justice.

APA citation examples for InfoTrac Criminal Justice

 

Image result for legal periodicals and books ebsco

Legal Periodicals & Books (EBSCO) is a database that provides international coverage and access to scholarly articles, symposia, jurisdictional surveys, court decisions, legislation, books, book reviews, and more.

APA citation examples for Legal Periodicals & Books

 

Image result for lexisnexis logo

LexisNexis Academic is a full-text database with access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information. It contains federal, state & international legal materials along with corporate news & financial information, and more.

APA citation examples for LexisNexis

 

PsycArticles provides full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 100,000 articles from 59 journals ranging in date from 1894 to the present.

APA citation examples for PsycArticles 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

Multi-Disciplinary databases contain articles from many different subjects. All databases below will contain some information on Criminal Justice topics.

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Social Science, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 APA citation examples for Academic Search Complete

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

APA citation examples for Academic OneFile