Skip to main content

LIT 1000 (Edwards Newman): Databases

This guide is designed to assist students in Professor Edwards Newman's Literature class as they work on the assignment The Literature Project: Powerful Reading.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper right corner on the "Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by visiting the Osceola Campus Library site, clicking the green "Databases" box, and logging in using your VID number. Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the dropdown menu. Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Search Terms

When searching databases for articles relating to literary criticism, try the following search:

"Your Author" AND criticism

or

"Novel/Play Title" AND criticism

or 

"Your Author" AND "Novel/Play Title" AND criticism

or even try 

"Your Author" AND "Novel/Play Title" AND style

TIP: In JSTOR you may like to narrow your results by limiting Content Type to Journals and Discipline to Language and Literature.

 

Literature Databases

The following databases will help you find author biographies, plot summaries, literary criticisms, and more:

 

http://gale.cengage.co.uk/images/artemis_lit.jpg

Artemis Literary Sources (Gale) integrates full-text literary content with metadata and subject indexing and provides workflow tools to analyze information. You can research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. Search across your library's Literature databases to find full text of literary works, journal articles, literature criticism, reviews, biographical information and overviews.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is available in the reference section of the Osceola Campus Library.

 

The Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete provides online versions of Gale's print literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online, Literature Criticism Online, and Something About the Author Online.

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database includes periodicals and multimedia organized into a user-friendly portal experience while also allowing users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

The following databases will help you find more research about themes found in literature:

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences.

Video Databases

The databases below contain full documentary and educational videos that can be used for scholarly research.

 

Image result for films on demand

Films on Demand contains streaming video from large and small production companies covering a wide range of subjects.

 

Kanopy Streaming Video contains streaming videos from a number of production companies on a wide variety of topics.

Content or Source Types

When using the Literature Specific Databases there are several different types of content that are common:

Literature Criticism- Scholarly analytical essays including articles from peer-reviewed journals.

Biographies- Articles about author's lives and the context in which they wrote.

Topic & Work Overviews/             Plot Summaries- Articles on topics, events, and the plots, themes, characters & contexts of works. 

Reviews- Evaluation of works, performance & films. Not usually scholarly.

Primary Sources & Literary Works- Texts of literary works & first hand accounts such as letters & diary entries.

Reference Books- Articles from reference books such as Critical Insights, Critical Surveys or Specialized Literary Encyclopedias.

Multimedia- Images & links to selected websites.

Librarian Osceola Campus

Cheryl Ann Livingston's picture
Cheryl Ann Livingston
Contact:
Reference Desk 321-697-4154

Office 321-697-4957