Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Termine): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in ENC1101 with Professor Termine at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking "Online Databases" below, and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Useful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Image result for business source complete

Business Source Complete covers all disciplines of business including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.

 

Image result for InfoTrac Communication & Mass Media Complete eCollection (Gale

Communication & Mass Media Complete provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, and more.

 

Image result for academic one file

Academic OneFile (Gale) provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

Image result for pop culture universe

Pop Culture Universe is an authoritative, yet irresistible, digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past, and present (from 1900 to current times).

 

Image result for opposing viewpoints in context

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.