Skip to main content

AMH 2020 (Bray): Databases

This guide is designed to help students complete the research project in Professor Bray's U.S. History 1877 to Present (AMH2020) course at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

History Databases

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. The database also contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

African American Experience is the definitive research tool for African American history and culture. This database is a good starting point for researching any topics dealing with race.

Daily Life Through History provides content from a vast number of reference works, monographs, and primary documents. Based on the landmark Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life, Greenwood Daily Life Online is supported by an active publishing program to ensure an ever-expanding and updated content base.

World at War provides access to authoritative reference content, pertinent primary sources, and a wealth of historical insight and analysis on the important themes and consequences of all major U.S.-involved wars, from the founding of the country to the present.

 

Biography (Gale in Context) contains background information on the world's most influential people. These people can be easily searched based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines, including hundreds of history periodicals and resources.

 

 

JSTOR provides access to back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Over 700 titles available, including numerous historical periodicals with coverage dating back to a hundred years or more.