The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:
Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct.
Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.
Access Smartthing within Atlas. Follow these steps:
The following databases are a good place to start for scholarly journal articles.
Scholarly journals (also commonly referred to as refereed, academic or peer-reviewed) have:
Search the library catalog to find books or ebooks on your theory.
When doing academic research, it is important to be able to figure out how to pick a database to use. Sometimes a professor will assign you a database, but other times you have to pick your own.
To do this,
Some things to think about when looking at a database
Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.
Call us at 407-582-1432.
Global Newsstream is a database that contains many newspapers from around the country and the world, including some well-known ones like the Washington Post, New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
News articles are, of course, also available on the web. Some reasons to use the database instead are: