Skip to main content

Criminal Justice: Home

A guide to criminal justice resources available to Valencia College students.

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Library Catalog

There may be print or e-books on your topic.

Search the Library Catalog to find books or ebooks.

APA Citation

Remember that although many of the library databases provide APA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's APA guides online (link below), the official APA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Smartthinking

Smarthinking Logo

Smarthinking is Valencia College’s online tutoring support. You can interact with tutors to get writing help or course specific tutoring such as Math, Medical and more.

Access Smartthing within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. From the My Courses box, click on 'Tutoring (online) - Smart Thinking'

Suggested Databases

Additional Career Resources

Criminal Justice Websites

Crime Statistics

West Campus Librarians

Photo of the West Campus Librarians: Nardia Cumberbatch, Regina Seguin, Beth King, Suzanne Johnson, and UCF Librarian Min Tong

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.