Skip to main content

Databases & Articles: Home

This is a guide to accessing databases and articles from Valencia College Libraries.

About Library Databases & Articles

Library databases are searchable, online collections of resources. They are often your best sources for newspaper, magazine and scholarly journal articles. You can also find e-books, encyclopedia articles, streaming videos, images and other resources designed especially for student research.

To Access Databases:

  1. Log in to Atlas.
  2. Click the Courses Tab.
  3. Click Search the Library. (The Library Catalog opens.)
  4. Click Databases A-Z.

 

Valencia Library databases are only accessible to current Valencia students, faculty and staff.

To access library databases, you must first log in to the library using either Atlas or your Borrower ID and PIN (see instructions below).

Library databases provide access to many articles that you would have to pay for out-of-pocket if you located them using Google or another Internet search engine.

In addition, databases contain some unique content that cannot be found using Google or other Internet search engines. Most importantly, databases are designed for student research. They offer customized search options and tools, such as sample citations, e-mailing and more. And, they offer access to curated collections of credible, professional and academic sources.

On the other hand, internet searches may result in resources that are not available through databases. To do your research thoroughly, use a variety of tools including databases and internet search engines.

Compared with books, articles are usually short. They are published as parts of larger publications that contain many articles, such as newspapers, magazines, or scholarly journals. Articles can also appear as parts of websites or as chapters within books.

Articles can be accessed by searching in most Library databases.

A "scholarly" article is usually one that has been written by an expert, peer reviewed, and published in a scholarly journal.

"Peer Reviewed" means the article has been reviewed by a panel of experts before publication. Certain journals require peer review before they will publish an article. A "scholarly journal" is one that requires peer review.

In many Library databases, you can limit your search to peer reviewed articles by checking a box.

Loading

List of Databases A-Z

To use this drop-down list, you must be logged in to the library. If you are not already logged in, see the instructions in the column to the right.

Finding a Specific Journal

If you know the exact newspaper, magazine or journal that you are looking for, you can search for it in Journals A-Z. To begin, log in to the library through Atlas (instructions in the column to the right). Once logged in, click Journals A-Z (not Databases A-Z!). Search for your publication in the form provided. Once you find your publication, click on it to link to the database where it is stored.

Using Google Scholar

You can access articles from Valencia's library databases using Google Scholar. To begin, go to scholar.google.com. Under settings, click Library Links and search for Valencia College. Check the box to enable linking search results to Valencia's library databases. Note: to link directly to library database articles from Google Scholar, you must be logged in to the Valencia library (see instructions in the column to the right).

Accessing Databases Through Atlas

The video below illustrates how to locate the library databases through Atlas. Note: For optimal viewing click the square in the lower right corner of the video to expand to full screen.

What are my Borrower ID and PIN?

If you reach the Valencia Database page through a link in Blackboard or a professor's website instead of going through Atlas, you will be asked to enter a Borrower ID and pin number.

Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID card. Most often, this number is your VID number. (On cards issued prior to August 12, 2008, you will see a 14-digit barcode number instead.) If you do not yet have a Valencia ID, enter your VID number as the Borrower ID.

Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.