Skip to main content

HUM 1020_Intro to Humanities_Fuhrman_Part 3: Introduction

Introduction

This LibGuide is designed to accompany Jean Marie Fuhrman's HUM 1020 Introduction to Humanities course.

Before accessing the individual tabs above, please familiarize yourself with the steps below for searching the library catalog and accessing the databases.

How to Search the Library Catalog

There are two ways to access the library catalog.

A.) Via Atlas:

  • Log into your Atlas account

       (You will find the above login logo in the upper right corner of the Valencia College homepage.)

  • Select the Courses tab
     
  • Locate the Libraries box in the right column and select "Search the Library"
     


B.) With your Valencia ID number and PIN (include the letter "V" with ID number):

  • Login with those credentials here

Next, perform a basic search by entering a topic, title, author or similar keyword.

For a more detailed search, select Advanced Search (located to the right of the Search button).

 

How to Access the Databases

There are two ways to access the library databases.

A.) Via Atlas

  • To access the databases, log into your Atlas account

       (You will find the above login logo in the upper right corner of the Valencia College homepage.)

  • Select the Courses tab
     
  • Locate the Libraries box in the right column and select "Search the Library"


 

B.) With your Valencia ID number and PIN (Include the letter "V" with your ID number):

  • Login with those credentials here.
     

Once the library catalog opens, select either "Databases A-Z" or "Databases by Subject" from above the search box.

Select a database to connect.

(To learn more about a database, click the icon to the right of the database name.)


NOTE: Attempting to access databases without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID number and PIN. If you prefer to use your VID and PIN, select "search quickly now" from the Search the Library box on the library homepage.