Skip to main content

ENC 1102 (Kokoulin): Home

Access the Databases

If you are not accessing this guide through Canvas, you must login to use databases links. There are two ways to do this.

1. Login via Atlas

  • Open a new tab or window
  • Login to Atlas
  • Go to the Courses tab
  • Click on Search the Library on the right-hand side of the screen.
  • You are now logged in to the library system and can go back to the guide and click on database links.

2. Login manually

  • If Atlas is down or you just don't want to bother getting into it, use this method.
  • Click on a database link in the guide.
  • The screen asks you to login using your Borrower ID and PIN.
  • The Borrower ID is your V number including a capital V at the beginning.
  • The PIN is the last four digits of your V number.

 

 

Recommended Databases

The following databases all come from the same company and may be searched all at once if you choose. To search all of them, pick one and then use the Choose Database option at the top of the search page to select the others.

Here are some additional databases that may be helpful. This set cover controversial issues and may be helpful for social issues like crime, gambling, racism, and women's rights.

And a couple more databases.

Books and eBooks

Search the library catalog for print books and electronic books on your topic.

When searching the catalog, be sure to limit to West Campus and books or eBooks before you search.

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.

MLA

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.