Skip to main content

ENC 1102 (LaCerra) -- LifeMap Assignment: Home

Start Here

This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to Courses tab.
  3. From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
  4. Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
  5. From LibGuides, do a search for LaCerra

Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Books and Ebooks

Depending on your time period, you may be able to find books and/or ebooks that will help you research opportunities in that time. To do this, search the library catalog.

For books, limit to West and then to books.

For ebooks, limit to ebooks.

MLA Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or Little Seagull Handbook.

Overviews

To get an overview of the time period of your story and the kinds of opportunities available to people who lived in those times, start with some reference books.

Particularly good starting points are:

Literature and Its Times

The for Students sets: Short Stories for Students, Drama for Students, etc.

These reference sets are available through Virtual Reference Library. Search for the title of your short story or play and look for the reference titles mentioned on your results list.

Databases

The history databases are a good place to start for historical topics. Next take a look at Academic Search Complete. If you do not find enough information in those, you may also want to search JSTOR, which is a large collection of scholarly journals on a wide variety of subjects, including history.

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.