Skip to main content

BSC 1011C (Laurent) : Home

A guide to assist students with research assignments in Professor Laurent's Fundamentals of Biology II class at West Campus.

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

APA Citation

Remember that although many of the library databases provide APA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's APA guides online (link below), the official APA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Topic Ideas

What is an Empirical Article?

The two presentation assignments require you to find empirical articles, articles based on original scientific research. An empirical article is an article from the library databases that presents research that is based on actual observations or experiments conducted by the author. 

How can I tell if an article is empirical study?

  • Check the sourceEmpirical articles are usually found in scholarly journals, not magazines or newspapers. Journals like Genetics and Animal Biology both publish studies that are empirical. 
  • Read the abstract (summary): If it mentions any study, questionnaires, participants, or measurements that the author conducted, it is empirical.
  • Format: Many empirical articles are broken down into sections, such as "Methodology", "Results", and "Conclusion." Finding these or similar headings in an article is a good indication that it involves a study or experiment.
  • Length: Empirical articles are usually very lenghty, at least 5 pages.
  • References: Does the article have references listed at the end? Scholarly researchers have to cite their sources, just like you!

If in doubt, always ask your instructor or a librarian!

Search Tips

Suggested Databases

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.