Skip to main content

LifeMap Certificate Guide (Valencia College Staff): Home

Welcome!

This is a guide to the library's databases for college employees enrolled in the LifeMap Certificate program. If you would like more individualized assistance, please contact any Valencia librarian.

1. Log in to the Library via Atlas

Log in to the Library via Atlas:

1. Log in to Atlas.

2. Click the Employees (or Courses) Tab.

3. Click Search the Library (in the right column).

4. The library search page will open in a new browser tab. Copy and paste the link to this guide into the new tab:

http://libguides.valenciacollege.edu/lifemap

If prompted for a Borrower ID:

If you have not logged in to the library, following the links in this guide will prompt you to enter a Borrower ID and PIN. The Borrower ID is your VID number, with the V. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your VID number.

If you were employed with the college prior to 2008, your Borrower ID may still be set to a barcode number that appeared on the back of your Valencia ID card.

Logging in through Atlas (using the instructions above) should avoid this login prompt.

If you have problems logging in, please contact your campus library for assistance.

2. Select a Database

Select a Database:

These databases may be the most helpful:

New to Library Databases?

Check out our guide to Databases & Articles for information and help.

How to Search

To search the databases most effectively, use keywords and avoid using long phrases.

Example of problem:

Students are unaware of the learning support services offered at the college.

Keywords in the statement:

  • students
  • unaware
  • learning support

Consider using synonyms or related terms:

  • college students, higher education students, undergraduate students
  • awareness, engagement
  • tutoring, library, writing center, academic support

Consider using keywords associated with contributing factors or possible solutions to your problem:

  • outreach, marketing

Enter keywords in the database's search form. Place quotation marks around short phrases (e.g. "learning support"). Try various combinations to yield different results.

Important Tip:

While most articles are available with full text, some do not have full text available.

  • If an article you need does not have full text available, please contact a librarian to initiate an Interlibrary Loan.
  • To find only full-text articles, check the Full Text checkbox: