Skip to main content

SPC 1608 (McLaughlin): Home

Logging In

The library resources on this page require a log-in.

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Click the Courses tab
  3. From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'

Note: If you do not access the library thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases.

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Statistics

Credible websites are often the best sources for statistics. Here are a few that I like to recommend:

MLA & APA Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook or APA Publication Manual (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Reference Books

Reference books are very useful for topic overviews. These help you begin to learn about a topic and think about what things might be interesting about the topic.

Books and Ebooks

Depending on your topic, books and ebooks can be a helpful resource. Search the library catalog for access.

Finding Articles in Library Databases

Articles can be accessed through the library's databases. One good place to start is Academic Search Complete, a general database from EBSCO. EBSCO also produces a number of other databases that can be searched at the same time.

 

Another possible database is Newsstand, which contains news articles from national and international newspapers. This is a good resource for stories and experiences, as well as any group that is likely to have been in the news recently like Syrian war refugees.

Identifying Additional Databases to Use

Explore the library's database collection and see other databases that may be useful for your topic.

After logging in via Atlas, click on Search the Library and then go to Databases by Subject.

You will see a list of subject categories that you can expand. Within each category is a list of databases with content in that subject area.


Tips:

  • Use the blue "i" icon to find out more about each database's content.
  • Your topic may fit under more than one category. For example if you fear an outbreak of flu, that is a health topic as well as a social sciences and a current events topic.
  • Most good research involves using more than one source. Don't be discouraged if the first database you try does not yield enough results.

West Campus Librarian

Beth King's picture
Beth King
Contact:
West Campus Library 6-326J
407-582-1854