Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Morehead): Home

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

MLA Citation

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

Smartthinking

Smartthinking Logo

Access Smartthing within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. From the My Courses box, click on 'Tutoring (online)'

What is a Database?

A library database:

  • a collection of information, usually articles
  • a subscription service, which means you have to login to use it
  • contains information that is not free on the web
  • searchable
  • uses searching language: keywords and subject headings
  • included articles have been chosen
  • included articles have subject headings

Databases for Topic Selection

These databases will help if you just want a list of topics to browse.

Opposing Viewpoints has a particularly large number of potential topics: click the Browse All Topics button to see them all.

What is Peer-Review?

Databases for Scholarly Articles

The following databases are a good place to start for scholarly journal articles.

Scholarly journals (also commonly referred to as refereed, academic or peer-reviewed) have:

  • authors with advanced degrees in the subject
  • a special review process called "peer review" in which the articles are reviewed by other experts
  • original research on a topic
  • extensive references to other sources on the topic
  • technical language
  • an audience of experts and students

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.

Using Google Scholar to Search Valencia Databases

To set Google Scholar to work with Valencia databases:

  • Connect to Google Scholar
  • Click on the three lines in the upper left hand corner
  • Select Settings
  • Select Library Links
  • Search for Valencia College
  • Check off the box labeled Valencia College -- Full Text @ VCC
  • Click Save

Search results will now have Full Text @ VCC in the right column if they are in a Valencia database.

Login through Atlas is still required.