Skip to main content

HUM 1020 (Ortega): Home

A guide to assist students with research assignments in Professor Ortega's Introduction to Humanities course.

Start Here

The databases listed on this page require a login. For access:

  1. Go to your Atlas account and log in.
  2. Click on the Search the Library link, under the "Courses" tab.
  3. On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject.
  4. Click on the name of the database, e.g. Academic Search Complete.

Note: If you do not access this guide through Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number is your VID card, including the 'V'
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Recommended Books & eBooks

Smartthinking

Smarthinking Logo

Smarthinking is Valencia College’s online tutoring support. You can interact with tutors to get writing help or course specific tutoring such as Math, Medical and more.

Access Smartthing within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. Go to the Courses tab
  3. From the My Courses box, click on 'Tutoring (online) - Smart Thinking'

Library Catalog: Books & eBooks

Use the Library Catalog to find books and eBooks on your topic.

When searching in the Catalog:

  • Be sure to limit to West Campus before you search
  • Limit to "omit articles" to find both print books and eBooks

Library Databases: Subject-Specific Encyclopedias

Use Library Databases to search for particular types of articles, images or other documents you need.

Encyclopedia articles are a good place to begin your research. They provide historical facts and background information.

Library Databases: Current News

For current news articles:

Library Databases: Academic Journals

Library Databases: Multidisciplinary

These databases cover many subjects and are a good place to search for topics that cross the boundaries of literature, music, philosophy, etc.

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.