Skip to main content

Resource Development's Guide to Library Resources: Home

Welcome!

This guide is designed for Valencia's Resource Development staff as an introduction / refresher on Valencia Libraries' resources and services. Please contact one of the campus libraries for further information!

1. Log in to the Library via Atlas

Log in to the Library via Atlas:

1. Log in to Atlas.

2. Click the Employees (or Courses) Tab.

3. Click Search the Library (in the right column).

4. The library search page will open in a new browser tab. Copy and paste the link to this guide into the new tab:

http://libguides.valenciacollege.edu/lifemap

If prompted for a Borrower ID:

If you have not logged in to the library, following the links in this guide will prompt you to enter a Borrower ID and PIN. The Borrower ID is your VID number, with the V. The PIN is the last 4 digits of your VID number.

If you were employed with the college prior to 2008, your Borrower ID may still be set to a barcode number that appeared on the back of your Valencia ID card.

Logging in through Atlas (using the instructions above) should avoid this login prompt.

If you have problems logging in, please contact your campus library for assistance.

All Library Databases:

To view a full list of library databases, log in to the library via Atlas as shown in Step 1.

When the library catalog opens, click Databases by Subject in the toolbar.

E-Journal Subscriptions:

To find out if we subscribe to a specific journal, log in to the library via Atlas as shown in Step 1.

When the library catalog opens, click Journals A-Z.

Search for the title of the journal you want to find.

How to Search

To search the databases most effectively, use keywords and avoid using long phrases.

Example of question:

How can community college nursing programs more effectively serve Hispanic students?

Keywords in the question:

  • students
  • Hispanic
  • nursing
  • community college

Consider using synonyms or related terms:

  • college students, higher education students, undergraduate students
  • Latino, Latina
  • retention, success, persistence, attrition

Enter keywords in the database's search form. Place quotation marks around short phrases (e.g. "learning support"). Try various combinations to yield different results.

 

Important Tip:

While most articles are available with full text, some do not have full text available.

  • If an article does not have full text, please contact a librarian to initiate an Interlibrary Loan.
  • To find only full-text articles, check the Full Text checkbox:

New to Library Databases?

Check out our guide to Databases & Articles for information and help.

Contact Information

Reference Desk Extensions

  • East Campus Library: x2456
  • Lake Nona Campus Library: x7107
  • Osceola Campus Library: x4154
  • Winter Park Campus Library: x6814
  • West Campus Library: x1432

Valencia Libraries Homepage