Skip to main content

ENC 1102 (Spottke) - Bluest Eye: Home

The Bluest Eye Assignment

Citation Guides

These color-coded guides and videos will assist you in building or checking your citations.

Logging In

Some of the resources on this page require logging in.

Login to Atlas

Go to the Courses tab.

Click on Search the Library.

OR

Use your VID number as your Borrower ID (include the V).

(If you have a pre-2008 ID, use the 14 digit number on the back of your Valencia ID instead.)

Use the last 4 digits of your VID number as the PIN.

Forbidden Sources

No websites. ONLY Valencia database search for electronic search allowed.

No works of fiction other than The Bluest Eye.  

No other databases other than Valencia’s.

No dictionaries or general encyclopedias.

No abstracts, full text articles only.

No book reviews. If there is a price listed, that would be a book review. 

No Quick Reviews like Cliff's Notes, Spark Notes, Monarch Notes, Pink Monkey, etc.

Scholarly Articles about the Novel, The Bluest Eye

Use Databases to search for articles that analyze the novel.

Remember, you need TWO (2) scholarly articles about The Bluest Eye for the annotated bibliography.

Scholarly Articles about Your Topic (from the word journal)

Use Databases to search for articles about your topic.

Remember, you need TWO (2) scholarly articles about your topic for the annotated bibliography.

Books/eBooks

Use the Library Catalog to search for print books.

For e-books, search the Library Catalog or you may also use an e-book collection from the Valencia library.

Remember you need a minimum of TWO (2)  for the annotated bibliography, including:

  • One (1) book or e-book about the novel, The Bluest Eye
  • One (1) book or e-book about your topic

The first must be on The Bluest Eye by one or more editors or authors - either an e-book or print copy - Cliff's Notes NOT allowed.

The second must contain information about your topic, specifically - no mention of the Bluest Eye therein. 

 

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.

Sample Approved Resources