Skip to main content

ENC 1101 (Wells): Home

Start Here

This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas.  Follow these steps:

  1. Log in to Atlas
  2. From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
  3. Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
  4. From LibGuides, click on English
  5. Look for ENC 1101 (Wells)

Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases

  • Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
  • Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID

Controversial Issues Databases

The following databases specialize in controversial topics. They are good for finding multiple points of view on an issue.

General Databases

The following databases contain articles on a wide variety of topics. You should be able to find almost any topic in one of these:

 

Identifying Additional Databases to Use

Explore the library's database collection and see other databases that may be useful for your topic.

After logging in via Atlas, click on Search the Library and then go to Databases by Subject.

You will see a list of subject categories that you can expand. Within each category is a list of databases with content in that subject area.


Tips:

  • Use the blue "i" icon to find out more about each database's content.
  • Your topic may fit under more than one category. For example, illegal immigration is a social sciences and a current events topic.
  • Most good research involves using more than one source. Don't be discouraged if the first database you try does not yield enough results.

 

Finding Books and Ebooks

To find books and ebooks use the library catalog. Limit to books or ebooks. For print books also limit to West.

MLA Guides online

Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct. 

Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.

West Campus Librarians

Visit the West Campus Librarians on the 2nd floor of building 6.

Call us at 407-582-1432.