Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Career Explorations Research Guide: Career Exploration Research

Locating Databases



 


 

Locating Career Resources

Our online databases contain millions of journal articles, academic encyclopedia entries, newspapers, and multimedia sources to help you succeed. The librarian can help you identify the types of research materials needed, help you access them online, and even send recommendations to get you started. 

Online Resources

College and Career Exploration
Within this class, you'll be exploring your personal strengths and laying out a pathway for your future. This guide will provide you with the tools needed to explore your career and education opportunities. 

Online Resources
Holland Career Assessment
This free career quiz uses the scientific Holland Code model to show you which jobs will suit your interests, talents, and aptitude. Get scores for 6 major job areas to guide your career planning.

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics - Occupational Outlook Handbook
This United States government database provides statistics, career trends and forecasts, and up-to-date listings of the most in-demand jobs. 

Valencia College Career Services 

Career Center
Create a resume, meet with a career counselor, research four-year institutions, practice interview techniques.

Internships and Workforce Services
Earn college credit while working in an actual position that relates to your major.

Library Databases

Access the Online Library

To complete the research assignment you'll need to access the online library. Follow these steps to get started.

Connect to the Library via Atlas:

1. Log in to Atlas: http://atlas.valenciacollege.edu.
2. Find the box with the Libraries header.
3. Under Libraries, click Search the Library.

General Career Databases

Fergusons Career Guidance Center: The Career Guidance Center provides career research assistance from Facts on File's Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance and Career Opportunities, as well as archived issues of the journal Career Opportunities News.
 

Career-Specific Databases
Applied Science and Technology Full Text: This database may help you locate information on various careers in the applied science field, such as engineering, health science careers, and environmental science, among others

Business Source Complete: Because it indexes the Occupational Outlook Handbook and Occupational Outlook Quarterly, Business Source Complete is a great database to find information on the demand and earning potential of your career.

Educator's Reference Complete: Education Research Complete can help any students who are looking into a career in education at any level, by providing career information and case studies.

America's Newspapers: This database indexes more than 600 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post, as well as Florida newspapers and their Spanish editions when available.

Common Questions

Meet the Librarian

Profile Photo
Emilie Buckley
Contact:
12350 Narcoossee Rd
Orlando, FL 32832
407-582-7009
Skype Contact: ebuckley3

Contact Emilie

Research Concierge

Have questions about locating online resources? Need a second opinion? Librarian, Emilie Buckley, is here to answer any research-related questions. Fill out the below form to receive a response within 2 business days. Make sure to provide details about your assignment.