Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Borrowing and Circulation Procedures

Purpose for Library Borrowing and Circulation Procedures

The purpose of these procedures is to provide guidelines for accessing library materials. These materials can include circulating, reference, and reserve materials (review the glossary for more background on these terms). Materials can be borrowed from Valencia College and other libraries through Interlibrary Loan.

Glossary of Terms

Borrowers

  • Borrowers are members of the library community who can check out a resource from the library. Borrowers include Valencia students, Valencia employees, and reciprocal borrowers.
  • To support the research needs of Florida learners, reciprocal borrowing privileges are available to students, faculty, and staff in the Florida State College System and the Florida State University System. This includes Valencia borrowers who can borrow from Florida's 28 state colleges and 12 universities.

Circulation Collection

The terms "circulation" and "circulating" refer to items that may be checked out, or borrowed, from the library for a specific length of time.

The circulating collection is available for checkout by currently enrolled Valencia students, current faculty and staff, and others recognized as reciprocal borrowers.

The circulating collection can include books, audiobooks, DVDs, videos, CDs, or periodicals. The collection contains materials that support the academic curriculum and research, as well as materials for personal enrichment to support lifelong learning.  

Course Reserves or Reserves Collection

Course reserves or reserves are a specific type of circulation resource with a shorter borrowing period.

The items include library-owned materials or materials made available by instructors for certain courses such as textbooks, technology, or items for instructional use (i.e., graphing calculators).

Reserve items are subject to availability and can only be requested in person. Some reserve materials can leave the library building while others cannot. The reserve collection is available for checkout by currently enrolled Valencia students and current faculty and staff.

Interlibrary Loan or ILL

Interlibrary loan, or ILL, is a service that allows students, faculty, and staff to access materials that are not owned by a specific Valencia campus library. This can include borrowing materials from another Valencia College campus or another library. 

Lost

Library items are marked as lost when they have been overdue for 20 days.

Patron

A patron is anyone who is an authorized user of any Valencia College Library services, including a borrower, reciprocal borrower, or other member of the community.

Reference Collection

The reference collection includes materials for the purposes of study or authentication, such as encyclopedias, style manuals, and study guides.

These items are designated for in-library use only, meaning they cannot be checked out or removed from the library premises. 

Procedures updated July 18, 2022.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.