Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide works best by accessing it within Atlas. Follow these steps:
- Log in to Atlas
- From the Libraries box, click on 'Search the Library'
- Under 'I Need to Find' click on LibGuides
- From LibGuides, do a search for Dieckmann
Note: If you do not access this guide thorugh Atlas, you will be prompted for a Borrower ID and PIN when you click on the links to the databases
- Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your VID card
- Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID
MLA Guides online
Remember that although many of the library databases provide MLA citations for electronic sources, it is your responsibility as a student to ensure that all of your citations are correct.
Be sure to compare any database generated citations to the library's MLA guides online (link below), the official MLA Handbook (located at the second floor Reference Desk), or your Little Seagull Handbook.
Film Reviews and Criticism
Peer reviewed, academic articles that analyze the film's contents can be accessed through the Valencia library database, Film & Television Literature Index. Also refer to free, high quality film review websites for movie reviews and essays.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Use this database to research prominent themes found within your film. You can also limit by Document Type for editorials, letters, and speeches, etc. that define or take a stand on the issue. Always limit your search to full text.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)
This database contains thousands of articles that provide information on the most controversial issues of the day.
Issues and Controversies (Infobase Publishing)
This database has many full length documents on controversial issues that impact society. Be sure to scroll down to the Special Features section for links to political cartoons that can be inserted into your PowerPoint presentation.
Access World News (NewsBank)
This collection of newspapers and other news sources is a great resource for finding editorials and letters to the editor.
Pop Culture Universe
Authoritative digital library of information on American and world popular culture, past and present. Covers new technology, internet memes, movies, TV, radio, music, comics, graphic novels, sports, fashion fast food and more.
Advertisements, TV Commercials & Political Cartoons