Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Evidence-based Practice

Types of EBP Sources

Types of EBP Sources:

  • Review some of the types of sources you may encounter related to EBP along with sample articles and suggested library databases in which to find the source.

  • The sources are listed in hierarchical order based on their decreasing potential for bias and decreasing availability.

  • Sources are not listed in order of preference and should be selected based on their fit with your specific clinical, PICOT, or research need.

  • Review the features of each example by clicking on the heading below. 

Finding These Types of Sources in Databases

  • When searching the library databases CINAHL and MEDLINE, both databases have a Publication Type option on the advance search page which allows you to select from the types of sources discussed on this page. Use the command option on a Mac or Control on a PC to select more than one type of source under the Publication Type options.

  • Avoid using the Evidence-Based Practice or Evidence-Based Medicine (EBM) option on the CINAHL and MEDLINE advanced search page. These options target the journal as a whole. Many of the EBP/EBM type of sources discussed on this page are not published in journals that focus only on EBP/EBM research. 

  • The library database Cochrane Library contains systematic reviews and clinical trial articles. 

  • Review the Using MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) to Find Sources page for more information on searching these databases.

Grey Literature (Background Information)

Grey literature is a source that does not use commercial publishing or distribution channels.

Examples include government reports, policy/procedure literature, urban plans, white papers, preprints, conference presentations/papers, speeches, newsletters, patents, technical reports, statistical reports, company documents, dissertations/theses, trial registries, grants, blogs, or social media.

Grey literature is often produced by government agencies, non-profits, academics, businesses, healthcare facilities, or industries. It can be printed or electronic and does not go through the peer-review process. Electronic grey literature can often be found on the company's, agency's, or association's website.

Test It Out: EBP Types of Sources Quiz

Activity

Check your knowledge by using the three (3) questions below.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.