Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OAER at Valencia College

This guide provides information on resources that can be used as supplementary course materials.

Links

You can use this link to search across repositories.

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

Open Textbook Collection

Open Textbook Library

The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

BC Campus Open Ed

The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

MERLOT

MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.

Anatomy and Physiology Textbooks

Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Open Textbook Library

Anatomy and Physiology - Available from OpenStax

Boundless Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Boundless

Human Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Open Course Library, Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges

Anatomy & Physiology - Three volume set. This textbook is an Open Education Resource provided under a Creative Commons license (CC-BY), permitting the copying, printing, repurposing and redistribution of all or some of its contents.

Question Bank also available at this site.

Biology

Concepts of Biology  -OpenStax

Concepts of Biology is designed for the introductory biology course for nonmajors taught at most two- and four-year colleges. The scope, sequence, and level of the program are designed to match typical course syllabi in the market. Concepts of Biology includes interesting applications, features a rich art program, and conveys the major themes of biology. 

Senior Contributors:

Samantha Fowler, Clayton State University

Rebecca Roush, Sandhills Community College

James Wise, Hampton University 

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Biology  -OpenStax

Biology is grounded in an evolutionary basis and includes exciting features that highlight careers in the biological sciences and everyday applications of the concepts at hand. To meet the needs of today’s instructors and students, some topics have been condensed and combined; for example, phylogenetic trees are presented in the various ways they are currently being developed by scholars, so instructors can adapt their teaching to the approach that works best in their classroom. The book also includes an innovative art program that incorporates critical thinking and clicker questions to help students understand—and apply—key concepts. 

Senior Contributors:

Yael Avissar, Rhode Island College, Cell Biology

Jung Choi, Georgia Institute of Technology, Genetics

Jean DeSaix, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Evolution

Vladimir Jurukovski, Suffolk County Community College, Animal Physiology

Robert Wise, University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh, Plant Biology

Connie Rye, East Mississippi Community College, General Content Lead

 This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

 

Biofundamentals™  -Mike Klymkowsky, Ph.D.

"The text is clear and concise, and the images and tutorials you've chosen are excellent. I've been blundering about for the last few years trying to adapt the textbooks offered to my (often unfocused) vision of how students could best make sense of biology."   -Matthew W. Brewer, Ph.D., Georgia State University

About the Author:

Mike Klymkowsky, University of Colorado, Biology

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.

 

Anatomy and Physiology  -OpenStax

Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the yearlong Human Anatomy and Physiology course taught at most two- and four-year colleges and universities to students majoring in nursing and applied health. A&P is 29 chapters of pedagogically effective learning content, organized by body system, and written at an audience-appropriate level. The lucid text, strategically constructed art, inspiring career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course.  -OpenStax

Authors:

J. Gordon Betts, Tyler Junior College, Life Sciences and Agriculture

Eddie Johnson, Central Oregon Community College, Biology

Jody E. Johnson, Arapahoe Community College, Biology

Dr. James A. Wise, Hampton University, Biology

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 3.0 Unported  License.

Supplemental Materials

Textbooks

Biology - Openstax

Simulations and Interactive Activities

Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology open courses include a variety of topics such as: Health Information Systems to Improve Quality of Care in Resource-Poor Settings, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Genomics and Computational Biology, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Data Acquisition and Analysis. These courses include many types of course materials such as: video/audio lectures, lecture notes, assessments, online textbooks, interactive simulationsTo re-use these materials, see the Creative Commons CC BY NC SA 4.0 license and Terms of Use.

Quizlet: Anatomy includes a set of flashcards.

Inner Body - Interactive learning

Anatomy & Physiology Practice Questions interactive practice questions from Prince George Community College

Anatomy Videos include short videos from the National Institute of Health to help understand body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.

U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project - The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has produced high resolution (4096 x 2048 x 24 bits) cryosectional color images of human anatomy.

Eskeletons interactive images to help learn the skeletal system

Muscle Atlas - Department of Radiology, University of Washington Muscle Atlas

Muscle Tutorial - A quick overview of how muscles work within the body.

Respiratory System - National Institute of Health SEER Training Module

Digestive System - National Institute of Health SEER Training Module

University of Michigan Medical School - Radiology images

University of MIchigan Medical School - Illustrations

Introductory Biology - MIT Open Courseware provides an inside look at MIT's Intro to Biology course featuring helpful video lectures, study materials, practice quizzes, and more

The Biology Project - An interactive online resource for learning biology, developed at The University of Arizona

The Interactive Body - Biology learning games

Anatomy and Physiology Labeling Exercise  - Activity to help test and improve your knowledge of anatomy

Genetic Science Learning Center  - Created by the University of Utah, this website provides interactive activities, labs, experiments, and workshops about all aspects of genetics

McGrawHill Online Learning Center - Study Outline, Case Studies, Internet Activities, Chapter Weblinks, Crossword Puzzle, Flashcards, Labeling Exercises, True or False Quiz, Multiple Choice Quiz, Feedback True or False Quiz, and Feedback Multiple Choice Quiz. Select the Chapter from the drop-down box to access the corresponding resources.

Images and Videos

Cell Image Library 

Based on user and funder feedback, and to maximize library growth and usage, The Cell offers a variety of licensing options for selection by submitters. We welcome comments and feedback on these policies. Please contact David Orloff (dorloff@ncmir.ucsd.edu), Director, Cell Image Library. Our goals include allowing for the most effective use of the data (without attribution, large data sets can be used easily, furthering scientific discovery), and reaching the greatest number of users.

Games

AnatomyZone 

Musculoskeletal Game Show - WISC-Online website

Quizlet: Anatomy - Use flashcards to review and then test your knowledge with games.

Library Resources

The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. Please let your liaison librarian know if you will be using OER's in your classes.

 

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.