Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OAER at Valencia College

This guide provides information on resources that can be used as supplementary course materials.

Images

Bassett Collection of Stereoscopic Images of Human Anatomy Photographs and diagrams of human anatomy. Provided by the Lane Medical Library, Stanford School of Medicine.
CDC - Public Health Image Library Much of the information critical to the communication of public health messages is pictorial rather than text-based. Created by a Working Group at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), the PHIL offers an organized, universal electronic gateway to CDC's pictures.

HEAL - Health Education Assets Library - "The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 freely available digital materials for health sciences education. The collection is now housed at the University of Utah J. Willard Marriott Digital Library." Copyright: Unrestricted use for educational purposes - check individual image 'rights' information for extent of re-use allowed for that image.

National Library of Medicine Online repository of biomedical resources including books, still images, videos, and maps.

NIH - Image and Video Gallery From the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, a searchable collection of scientific photos, illustrations and videos.
Open-i Open access biomedical image search engine made available by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
Photoshare "Thousands of International Health and Development Images, Free for nonprofit and educational use." - supported by Johns Hopkins University. Terms of Use
Public Health Image Library Images from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Terms of use information is on their FAQ page and states, "Images are either 'Public Domain' (free use) or 'Copyright Protected' (restricted, obtain permission before use)" - most are public domain, but check individual image information regarding public domain or copyright status.
The Visible Human Projects- NLM The creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.
 

eSkeletons Available under Creative Commons from Images and content are created by faculty, staff, and students at the University of Texas.

Anatomy & Physiology Lab Homework and Reference Materials from OER Commons

Anatmony Zone Review usage language. Partner with OpenStax

 

Library Resources

The Library provides access to databases that contain e-books, e-journals, images, videos, etc. that can be used to supplement textbooks and other course materials. Please let your liaison librarian know if you will be using OER's in your classes.

 

The links on this guide may change, if you discover a dead link, please let me know: dramsingh1@valenciacollege.edu 

General Health Science Resources

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention A major US federal agency that works to help people and communities protect their health – through health promotion, prevention of disease, injury and disability, and preparedness for new health threats
HealthFinder From the U.S. Dept. of Health and Human Services, a gateway to selected consumer health information provided by U.S. government agencies, state and local government agencies, not-for-profit organizations, and universities.
Mayo Clinic Health information from the Mayo Clinic.
MedlinePlus Authoritative information from the National Library of Medicine, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.
National Institutes of Health - Health Information Publications and fact sheets, ClinicalTrials.gov, health hotlines, A-Z topic index, MEDLINEplus, other resources. Offers most frequently requested consumer health publications produced by the NIH.
PublicHealth.org A collection of resources on topics of nutrition such as diabetes, heart disease, obesity, cancer, and mental illness.
PubMed Health PubMed Health specializes in reviews of clinical effectiveness research, with easy-to-read summaries for consumers as well as full technical reports. Clinical effectiveness research finds answers to the question “What works?” in medical and health care.
Science.gov Gateway to government science information and research results.
World Education - Health Literacy Special Collection Includes resources that are easy to read, multilingual, and for the trainer and researcher, including a new health literacy tutorial for the health literacy practitioner.

UC's OERN collection

GWU's smaller collection of nursing OER materials

The Global Health eLearning Center (from USAID) offers free course modules, course materials, etc. which some RN programs use

WiscOnline (Wisconsin Technical Colleges) collection of open Nursing learning objects

NCLEX Khan Academy videos

Creative Clinical Teaching in the Health Professions - open, peer-reviewed textbook

Health Science Textbooks

BC Campus Open Ed The B.C. Open Textbook Project is funded by the BC Ministry of Advanced Education, and BCcampus is tasked with managing it. A goal of the Project is to provide flexible and affordable access to higher education resources in B.C. by making available 40 openly-licensed textbooks. These texts will be available for selection by B.C. faculty, and digital versions of the texts will be free of charge to students. For those who prefer a printed copy, this format will also be available on demand for a low cost. -BC Campus

Galileo Open Learning Materials A collection of textbooks on topics of health and nursing.

InTech An open collection of medical textbooks covering a wide variety of topics.
MERLOT MERLOT is a collection of online resources curated by a community of faculty, staff, and students of higher education.  This subset of the MERLOT collection features openly licensed textbooks for use by students and faculty.  MERLOT allows its users to rate materials and comment on specific resources.
Merck Manual - Professional Version Find information on medical topics, symptoms, drugs, procedures, news and more, written for the health care professional.
NCBI Bookshelf The National Library of Medicine / National Center for Biotechnology Information provides free online access to books and documents in life science and healthcare.
Nursing: Mental Health and Community Concepts - This textbook is an open educational resource with CC-BY licensing developed specifically for prelicensure nursing students. The e-book and downloadable versions are free. Affordable print versions are published in collaboration with XanEdu and available on Amazon and in college bookstores.
Open RN - Open Education Resources for Nursing - The Open RN™ project is funded by a $2.5 million dollar grant from the Department of Education to create five OER Nursing Textbooks with 25 associated Virtual Reality scenarios.
OpenStax - Anatomy and Physiology Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements.
OpenStax - Microbiology Microbiology covers the scope and sequence requirements for a single-semester microbiology course for non-majors. The book presents the core concepts of microbiology with a focus on applications for careers in allied health.

Open Textbook Library The Open Textbook Library is a collection of open textbooks that features reviews written by professors.  A project of the University of Minnesota, The Open Textbook Library provides a review rubric for faculty to use when evaluating textbooks and displays them for the benefit of potential adopters. 

Videos and Course Materials

Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology open courses include a variety of topics such as: Health Information Systems to Improve Quality of Care in Resource-Poor Settings, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Genomics and Computational Biology, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Data Acquisition and Analysis. These courses include many types of course materials such as: video/audio lectures, lecture notes, assessments, online textbooks, interactive simulationsTo re-use these materials, see the Creative Commons CC BY NC SA 4.0 license and Terms of Use.

Introduction to Biology - MIT These lectures from the MIT Biology Department cover the fundamental principles of biochemistry, genetics, molecular biology, and cell biology. Biological function at the molecular level is particularly emphasized and covers the structure and regulation of genes, as well as, the structure and synthesis of proteins, how these molecules are integrated into cells, and how these cells are integrated into multicellular systems and organisms. In addition, each version of the subject has its own distinctive material. 

Biology 1A  -UC Berkeley General Biology Lecture - General introduction to cell structure and function, molecular and organismal genetics, animal development, form and function.

Biology 1B  -UC Berkeley General introduction to plant development, form, and function; population genetics, ecology, and evolution. Intended for students majoring in the biological sciences, but open to all qualified students.

Genomes and Diversity  -New York University Millions of species of animals, plants and microbes inhabit our planet. Genomics, the study of all the genes in an organism, is providing new insights into this amazing diversity of life on Earth. We begin with the fundamentals of DNA, genes and genomes. We then explore microbial diversity, with an emphasis on how genomics can reveal many aspects of organisms, from their ancient history to their physiological and ecological habits. We follow with examinations of animal and plant diversity, focusing on domesticated species, such as dogs and tomatoes, as examples of how genomic methods can be used to identify genes that underlie new or otherwise interesting traits. Genomics has also transformed the study of human diversity and human disease. We examine the use of DNA to trace human ancestry, as well as the use of genomics as a diagnostic tool in medicine. With the powerful new technologies to study genomes has come an increased power to manipulate them. We conclude by considering the societal implications of this ability to alter the genomes of crop plants, livestock and potentially humans.  -New York University

Open Courses

Human Anatomy & Physiology Course 1

"Human Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) 241 is the first class in a two quarter sequence in which human anatomy and physiology are studied using a body systems approach with emphasis on the interrelationships between form and function at the gross and microscopic levels of organization."

Human Anatomy & Physiology Course 2

"Human Anatomy and Physiology (A&P) 242 is the second class in a two quarter sequence in which human anatomy and physiology are studied using a body systems approach with emphasis on the interrelationships between form and function at the gross and microscopic levels of organization. "

Open Access Journals

BioMed Central
Health Policy
Journal of Nutrition & Intermediary Metabolism
Journal of Social Sciences
Nature - Nutrition & Diabetes
NFS Journal
Occupational Therapy International
Open Journal of Occupational Therapy
PubMed Central

Data/Statistics

Data & Statistics - Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Health - Data.gov
Partners - Health Data Tools & Statistics
Global Health Observatory Data - World Health Organization

Simulations and Interactive Activities

Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology open courses include a variety of topics such as: Health Information Systems to Improve Quality of Care in Resource-Poor Settings, Biomedical Signal and Image Processing, Genomics and Computational Biology, and Functional Magnetic Resonance Imaging: Data Acquisition and Analysis. These courses include many types of course materials such as: video/audio lectures, lecture notes, assessments, online textbooks, interactive simulationsTo re-use these materials, see the Creative Commons CC BY NC SA 4.0 license and Terms of Use.

Quizlet: Anatomy includes a set of flashcards.

Inner Body - Interactive learning

Anatomy & Physiology Practice Questions interactive practice questions from Prince George Community College

Anatomy Videos include short videos from the National Institute of Health to help understand body parts and organ systems and how diseases and conditions affect them.

U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project - The U.S. National Library of Medicine's Visible Human Project has produced high resolution (4096 x 2048 x 24 bits) cryosectional color images of human anatomy.

Eskeletons interactive images to help learn the skeletal system

Muscle Atlas - Department of Radiology, University of Washington Muscle Atlas

Muscle Tutorial - A quick overview of how muscles work within the body.

Respiratory System - National Institute of Health SEER Training Module

Digestive System - National Institute of Health SEER Training Module

University of Michigan Medical School - Radiology images

University of MIchigan Medical School - Illustrations

Introductory Biology - MIT Open Courseware provides an inside look at MIT's Intro to Biology course featuring helpful video lectures, study materials, practice quizzes, and more

The Biology Project - An interactive online resource for learning biology, developed at The University of Arizona

The Interactive Body - Biology learning games

Anatomy and Physiology Labeling Exercise  - Activity to help test and improve your knowledge of anatomy

Genetic Science Learning Center  - Created by the University of Utah, this website provides interactive activities, labs, experiments, and workshops about all aspects of genetics

McGrawHill Online Learning Center - Study Outline, Case Studies, Internet Activities, Chapter Weblinks, Crossword Puzzle, Flashcards, Labeling Exercises, True or False Quiz, Multiple Choice Quiz, Feedback True or False Quiz, and Feedback Multiple Choice Quiz. Select the Chapter from the drop-down box to access the corresponding resources.

Games

AnatomyZone 

Musculoskeletal Game Show - WISC-Online website

Quizlet: Anatomy - Use flashcards to review and then test your knowledge with games.

Anatomy and Physiology Textbooks

Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Open Textbook Library

Anatomy and Physiology - Available from OpenStax

Boundless Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Boundless

Human Anatomy and Physiology - Available from Open Course Library, Washington State Board for Community & Technical Colleges

Anatomy & Physiology - Three volume set. This textbook is an Open Education Resource provided under a Creative Commons license (CC-BY), permitting the copying, printing, repurposing and redistribution of all or some of its contents.

Question Bank also available at this site.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.