Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database Quick Guide - Virtual Reference Library: About Virtual Reference Library

Virtual Reference Library


 

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of electronic reference books (e-books) and specialized encyclopedias that can be crossed searched. In this database you can find reference titles covering art, business, history, law, medicine, multiculturalism, and social sciences. Use this guide to help you navigate this useful resource.

Link to Virtual Reference Library

What are my Borrower ID and PIN?

If you reach the Valencia Database page through a link in Canvas or a professor's website instead of going through Atlas, you will be asked to enter a Borrower ID and pin number.

Your Borrower ID is the number on the back of your Valencia ID card. Most often, this number is your VID number. (On cards issued prior to August 12, 2008, you will see a 14-digit barcode number instead.) If you do not yet have a Valencia ID, enter your VID number as the Borrower ID.

Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number.

Accessing Databases Through Atlas

The video below illustrates how to locate the library databases through Atlas. Note: For optimal viewing click the square in the lower right corner of the video to expand to full screen.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.