Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

HUM 2250 (Gitto): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in Professor Gitto's 20th and 21st Century Humanities course (HUM2250) at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by clicking "Online Databases" below, and logging in using your VID number (Borrower ID). Your PIN is the last four digits of your VID number. From there, you can select the "Databases A-Z" option, find the database you want, and connect. Make sure you also select "Valencia College" from the drop-down menu.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Humanities Related Databases

Image result for art and architecture source

Art & Architecture Source covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design.

Humanities Source covers worldwide content in all aspects of humanities. Topics include art, classical studies, communications, film, folklore, gender studies, linguistics, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and theology.

 

History Reference Center offers full text from more than 750 history reference books and encyclopedias, and cover-to-cover full text from nearly 60 history magazines. Further, the database contains 58,000 historical documents; 43,000 biographies of historical figures; more than 12,000 historical photos and maps; and 87 hours of historical film and video.

 

American History has information from the explorers of the Americas to the gripping issues in today’s headlines, American History investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation’s evolution.

African American Experience is the definitive research tool for African American history and culture. This database is a good starting point for researching any topics dealing with race.

Literature Databases

Image result for artemis literary sources

Artemis Literary Sources provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full-text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

Literature Criticism Online is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism, which is also available in the Reference section of the Osceola Campus Library.

 

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

 

JSTOR is a database including articles in the Humanities, Arts, and social sciences. This database should help you search for information on art movements, as well as criticisms of works of art.

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines.