Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Database
"Database" is a word that means a collection of something. Library Databases are collections of articles, images, video clips and other documents you can use for college-level research. The library subscribes to these resources each year, so they are only available to Valencia students, faculty and staff.
The contents of a database are different from the web sites you can find through Google and other search engines. They are specifically meant for college students and researchers to find information about topics.
How to Access Databases
- Go to your Atlas account and log in.
- Click on the "Search the Library" link.
- On the page that follows, click Databases A-Z or Databases by Subject
How to Choose a Database
Which of the 200+ database links should you click on? The long list can be quite overwhelming.
Use the Databases by Subject link to sort the database links into categories. Think about the topic you are researching. Does it fit into one or more of those categories? Example: The topic "AIDS in Africa" could fit into several categories: Health & Medicine, News & Current Events, General.
Expand the categories to see a list of databases for that subject. Click on the blue "i" icon to get details about each database.
Inside a Database
A Database Search Page
A database is similar to a search engine. It begins with a search page where you can type in words related to your topic.
These files represent an example of the contents of one library database, Academic Search Complete. Different databases may look and function differently, but this will give you a visual idea of what a database is.
A Database Results Page
This is an example of the results page that may appear after you search within a database. A list of articles is presented
Article Details in a Database
This file shows an example of article details in a database. The details view shows you the citation information for the article, a summary of the article, and a link to the full text.
Full Text Article in a Database
This file shows the full text of an article displayed in a database.
Database for PHR Research