Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

INR 2002 (Ramsier): Databases

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in International Politics with Professor Ramsier at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Helpful Databases

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many different disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

Academic OneFile provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.

 

The Military & Government Collection offers current news and information to all branches of the military, with a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and newsweeklies. Includes cover-to-cover full text for nearly 350 titles.

 

CQ Researcher Plus Archive (CQ Press) includes monthly reports on global affairs written by veteran journalists with years of international reporting experience. Many reports include charts, graphs, and sidebar articles.

 

Global Issues in Context offers global perspectives on issues of international importance and current world events and topics in the news related to these issues. Not a pro and con database, Global Issues in Context ties together a variety of sources to present a rich analysis of issues – social, political, military, economic, environmental, science-related, health-related, cultural – and headlines in world hot spots.

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to websites.

 

Newsstand is an international newspaper database that covers major world newspapers, such as the New York Times, Los Angeles Times, The Washington Post, The Daily Mail, The Wall Street Journal, and more.

 

World Geography has a wealth of information on world issues and even gives various examples by country.

 

 

World History: The Modern Era is the best resource to find out what has happened historically since the 1500s. You can identify the era in which your conflict is from, or conduct a search using the conflict name or your country as a keyword. This is also a good source to find maps, images, and statistics.

 

 

Biography in Context provides an online experience for those seeking contextual information on the world's most influential people. The database allows users to search for people based on name, occupation, nationality, ethnicity, birth/death dates and places, or gender as well as keyword and full text.