Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

POS 2112 (Ramsier): Finding Sources

This guide is designed to help students with library research as they complete assignments in POS 2112 with Professor Ramsier at the Poinciana Campus.

Accessing Databases

To access the databases to the right, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link on the right side of the "My Courses" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list, and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

You can also access databases by using your Borrower ID (your VID number; including the V) and PIN (the last four digits of your VID number).  You can select a database from the Alphabetical or Subject list.  Click the icon below to log into the library's databases using your borrower ID and PIN.

Clicking the database links within this guide without logging into Atlas will require you to log in using your VID.

Legislation

There are many ways to research state and local legislation. Interest groups and news sources will have information about new bills and laws. For primary sources (actual text of bills and laws), try the following:

Current Events Databases

 

Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an online database for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. It features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files, and links to websites.

Issues and Controversies offers a wealth of current topics research information, including pro/con discussions of hot issues, newspaper editorials, numerical snapshots of key topics, photos and graphics, and selected historical source documents.

 

Points of View Reference Center is a database designed to assist researchers in understanding the full scope of a wide range of controversial subjects. It features a series of full-text essays representing opposing viewpoints on a variety of important issues. 

 

America's World News: USA (NewsBank) is the most comprehensive collection of full-text newspapers nationally, containing electronic editions of more than 600 U.S. newspapers. America's Newspapers also includes many local Florida newspapers, including The Orlando Sentinel. These sources will be helpful if you're researching an extremely current issue, or one that has a lot of current activity (i.e. texting while driving ban in FL).

Statistics

Government agencies are excellent sources for statistics. Try the following strategies:

  • Search Google with your keywords and site:.gov (Example: state election fraud site:gov).
  • Search state and local government sites (see directories above)

The following website may also be helpful:

Think tanks are also useful sources for statistics. These are independent organizations that research issues and trends. The following websites may be helpful:

Interest Groups

Interest groups are organizations that advocate for a cause. Most have informative websites. Try the following strategy: search Google with your keywords, the word advocacy, and site:.org (Example: colorado marijuana advocacy site:.org).

The following websites may also be helpful: