Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

IDH 2911 (Sexton) : Interdisciplinary Honors Research: Academic Research

Best Bets: Interdisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete  is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database  with  access to articles  from multiple disciplines such as Humanities, Literature, Science, Business, and more.  In addition, the database provides access to publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. 

JSTOR is a database that includes articles in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

undefined

ProQuest All Subscribed Content is comprised of 5 databases including:

  • EBook Central (multidisciiplinary  eBooks)
  • Criminal Justice Database
  • ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851 - 2016)
    • First-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
  • Publicly Available Content Database
  • Coronavirus Research Database

Best Bets: Subject Databases

APA PsycArticles delves into the science of psychology and behavior with full-text, peer-reviewed articles published by the American  Psychological Association and affiliated journals.  

Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.

Business Source Complete is a scholarly business database providing comprehensive coverage to full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting finance and economics.  

Humanities Source provides worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.  It is a comprehensive database that includes articles and book reviews of subject areas such as, art, communications, film, history, journalism, etc., as well as classical studies, area studies and gender studies.   

ScienceDirect  combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.

What is a Peer-Reviewed Journal Article?

Some academic journal articles found in the library databases are peer-reviewed, or refereed. These scholarly articles are written by experts and reviewed by other experts to ensure quality and accuracy. After a successful peer review, the article is then published for the public to access.

How Can I tell if an Article is Peer-Reviewed?

  • Some databases, like Academic Search Complete or PsycArticles, allow you to limit your search results to "Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Articles"
  • Consider visual cues. Is the article split into headings like Method, Results, Conclusion? Does the article look professional with little to no advertising? These are good signs it could be scholarly.
  • Visit the journal's web site to see if it mentions being peer-reviewed or refereed. If you click the journal title within some databases, it will give you a link to the journal publisher's web site.
  • Can't find any information on the journal web site? Look for links referring to submission criteria, or information for referees. 

‚ÄčNot all content from a peer-reviewed journal is reviewed. Articles like editorials, book reviews, and letters to the editor are not considered peer-reviewed articles.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.