Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EVR 1001 (Angley) - Research PowerPoint: Finding a Library Article

Overview

On this tab, students will be able to explore an overview of the benefits of using a library database to find articles, review sample search terms related to your assignment, review a list of databases to find articles, and find a list of video tutorials for searching those databases.

The Library provides access to a variety of resources: scholarly research articles, magazine articles, news articles, e-books, streaming videos, and more. These resources are grouped together in different databases. A database allows the user to search by keywords, title, author, type of publication, and more.

Additionally, library databases can be grouped together by subject matter. Databases related to your research topic can be accessed in our science databases. To access these databases: log into Atlas, click on Search the Library, select Databases A-Z, click on Sciences to explore our list of science databases.

Library databases:

  • Allow you to filter results before or after your search (for example by only reviewing magazine articles or articles published most recently, etc.)
  • Provide access to search results that are based on your keywords and/or limiters that you select (not your previous searches)
  • Provide access to more credible sources (authors, publications, peer-review)
    • Learn more about peer-review (from Eastern Michigan University Library)
  • Most help you to generate citation

You can begin your searches with the suggested search terms below:

Dolphin or Marine Mammals
Sentinel Species
Death or Mortality
Virus or Virology or Microbiology or Epidemiology

When searching a library database, you can combine search terms (i.e. dolphin AND mortality AND virus).

You can also narrow your results prior to searching by using the suggested subject databases below.

Suggested Databases

Scholarly journal (academic journal) articles provide access to expert research studies about a topic. Consider using search terms that a professional in the field would use.

Other Library Databases (Non-Valencia)

What is a Library Database?

Video Tutorials for Searching Library Databases

EBSCO and Elsevier are examples of two vendors that provide library databases. The library purchases access to multiple databases from each of these vendors. The videos below will provide an overview of how to search each vendor's databases. Although each database might have slightly different features, they each have items in common such as a search feature, email/share, or citation help. 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.