Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC 1101 (Narain): Databases

This guide is designed to assist students with their research assignments in Professor Narain's ENC1101 course.

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

Keyword Searching

Some possible keywords for finding reviews on the movie Coco:

  • Coco
  • Pixar
  • Film
  • Motion picture
  • Film review
  • Movie review
  • Criticism

Multi-Disciplinary Databases

http://www.ebscohost.com/prod-mastheads/FilmandTVLitIndexFT_Masthead_Web.png

Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic and full-text database covering the entire spectrum of television and film.  It includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.

 

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

 

 

 

Academic OneFile provides access to the New York Times and peer-reviewed full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources, including coverage of technology, social sciences, the arts, and other subjects. 

Searching the Library Databases

The terms you will use when searching the library databases will come from the keywords/synonyms list you created from your research statement. 

View the following video as a reminder on how to search Academic Search Complete.

Literary Databases

 

Literature (Gale) provides students and other researchers with single-search access to an assortment of traditional literary reference works, critical information on authors and their works, current journal articles, and other additional resources. Full-text access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.

 

Literary Reference Center Plus is a full-text database that includes plot summaries, overviews, literary criticism, author biographies, literary journal articles, book reviews, author interviews, images, and full-text poems, short stories, and novels.

 

 

Literature Criticism (Gale) is the online archive of Contemporary Literary Criticism which houses criticisms for various contemporary works.

 

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.