Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Valencia Holocaust Reader: Valencia MLA Resources

A resource for Holocaust-focused courses

MLA-8 Handbook (Valencia College Library)

MLA 9 Style for Library Databases

Which Database Example to Use

Which Database Example to Use

Database

Example
Academic OneFile Use Gale Databases
Academic OneFile Select Use Gale Databases
Academic Search Complete Use EBSCOhost
ACS Publications Use Journal of Chemical Education
African American Experience Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Agriculture Use Gale Databases
America's News Use NewsBank
American Government Use ABC-CLIO Databases
American History Use ABC-CLIO Databases
American Indian Experience Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Ancient & Medieval History Use Infobase Databases
APA PsycArticles Use EBSCOhost
Applied Science and Technology Source Use EBSCOhost
Art & Architecture Source Use EBSCOhost
Biography in Context Use Gale Databases
Bloom's Literature Use Infobase Databases
Books and Authors Use Gale Databases
Business Use Gale Databases
Business and Management Video Collection Use Video in a Library Database
Business Cases Use Sage Databases
Business Insights: Essentials Use Gale Databases
Business Plans Handbook Series Use Gale Databases
Business Source Complete Use EBSCOhost
CINAHL Complete Use EBSCOhost
Cochrane Library Use Wiley Databases
Communications and Mass Media Use Gale Databases
Computer Science Use Gale Databases
Consumer Reports Use EBSCOhost
CQ Researcher Use CQ Researcher
Criminal Justice Use Gale Databases
Criminal Justice Use ProQuest Databases
Culinary Arts Use Gale Databases
Daily Life Through History Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Data Planet (Sage) Use Sage Databases
Demographics Now Use Gale Databases
Dictionary of Literary Biography Use Gale Databases
Diversity Studies Use Gale Databases
DSM-5 Use DSM-5
Ebook Central Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (ABC-CLIO) Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (EBSCO) Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (Gale) Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (OVID) Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (Salem Press) Use Ebook in a Library Database
eBook Collection (Taylor & Francis) Use Ebook in a Library Database
Economics and Theory Use Gale Databases
Education Source Use EBSCOhost
Educator's Reference Complete Use Gale Databases
Elementary Edition Use Gale Databases
Entrepreneurship Use Gale Databases
Environmental Studies and Policy Use Gale Databases
ERIC Use EBSCOhost
European Views of the Americas: 1493-1750 Use EBSCOhost
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center Use Infobase Databases
Film & Television Literature Index Use EBSCOhost
Film Streaming Library Use Video in a Library Database
Films on Demand Use Video in a Library Database
Fine Arts Use Gale Databases
Florida News Sources Use NewsBank
Florida Newspaper Database Use Gale Databases
Gardening and Horticulture Use Gale Databases
Gender Studies Use Gale Databases
General OneFile Use Gale Databases
Global Issues Use Gale Databases
Global Road Warrior Use Global Road Warrior
GreenFILE Use EBSCOhost
Health and Medicine Use Gale Databases
Health and Wellness Use Gale Databases
Health Source: Consumer Edition Use EBSCOhost
High School Edition Use Gale Databases
History in Dispute Use Gale Databases
History Reference Center Use EBSCOhost
Home Improvement Use Gale Databases
Hospitality and Tourism Use Gale Databases
Humanities Source Use EBSCOhost
Information Science Use Gale Databases
Informe Academico Use Gale Databases
Insurance and Liability Use Gale Databases
Issues and Controversies Use Infobase Databases
Issues and Controversies in American History Use Infobase Databases
Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society Use ABC-CLIO Databases
JSTOR Use JSTOR
Kanopy Streaming Video Use Video in a Library Database
Latino American Experience Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text Use EBSCOhost
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts with Full Text Use EBSCOhost
Literary Reference Center Plus Use EBSCOhost
Literature Use Gale Databases
Literature Criticism Use Gale Databases
LitFinder Use Gale Databases
MAS Ultra - School Edition Use EBSCOhost
MasterFILE Premier Use EBSCOhost
MEDLINE with Full Text Use EBSCOhost
Middle School Edition Use Gale Databases
Military & Government Collection Use EBSCOhost
Military and Intelligence Use Gale Databases
New York Times -- Current Use Gale Databases
New York Times -- Historical Use ProQuest Databases
Nursing and Allied Health Collection Use Gale Databases
Opposing Viewpoints Use Gale Databases
Orlando Sentinel Use NewsBank
Peterson's Test Prep Use Gale Databases
Physical Therapy and Sports Medicine Use Gale Databases
Poetry & Short Story Reference Center Use EBSCOhost
Points of View Reference Center Use EBSCOhost

Pop Culture Studies

Use Gale Databases
Pop Culture Universe Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Popular Magazines Use Gale Databases
Primary Search Use EBSCOhost
Psychology Use Gale Databases
R2 Digital Library Use Ebook in a Library Database
Regional Business News Use EBSCOhost
Religion and Philosophy Use Gale Databases
Sage Journals Use Sage Databases
Science Use Gale Databases
ScienceDirect Use ScienceDirect
Sources in U.S. History Online: Civil War Use Gale Databases
Springer eJournal Collection Use Springer eJournal Collection
Teacher Reference Center Use EBSCOhost
U.S. History Use Gale Databases
Vocations and Careers Use Gale Databases
War and Terrorism Use Gale Databases
Wiley Online Library Use Wiley Databases
World at War Use ABC-CLIO Databases
World Folklore and Folklife Use ABC-CLIO Databases
World Geography Use ABC-CLIO Databases
World History Use Gale Databases
World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras Use ABC-CLIO Databases
World History: the Modern Era Use ABC-CLIO Databases
World Religions Use ABC-CLIO Databases
Writer's Reference Center Use Infobase Databases

In-Text Citations

In-Text Citations

Parenthetical Documentation or Citing Sources in the Text: Use the following examples as a guide for referencing sources in the body of your paper.

Site with one author:
"LifeMap is a guide to help you figure out your career and educational goals" (Jones).

Site with two or three authors:
The LRC has many electronic resources (Smith, Adams, and Williams).

Site with more than three authors:
"Online courses provide a way for students to use their time wisely" (Kilby et al.).

Site with no author; use first two words of title:
Valencia has a vital workforce development program ("More Companies").

Site with a corporate author:
"Valencia is a better place to start" (Valencia College).

Site which numbers paragraphs:
Academic Search Premier is an extremely versatile database (Byrnes, pars. 5-6).

Site for an article in pdf format which includes accurate page numbers:
"An understanding of international politics is essential in today's world" (Crawford 55).

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.