Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENC1210 (O'Brien Grogan): Finding Articles

This guide will assist students in Professor O'Brien Grogan's ENC1210 (Technical Communication) with their research assignments.

Database Search Tips

Below you will find tips on searching the library databases. Most databases will have a Basic Search and an Advanced Search and will use the same principles for searching. For this example, the search was using the Advanced Search in the Academic Search Complete database. Remember to search using keywords or phrases that you want to find in your search results. For example, if you are looking for information on parking problems in the City of Orlando. Your keywords would be parking AND Orlando. If your search results are very high, you can include the word problems as an additional keyword to narrow your search. Try to avoid putting parking problems in the City of Orlando as one entire phrase as you will miss out on some relevant results. 

Accessing Databases

To access the library databases listed in this guide, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab.

Once the library catalog opens, you will see the "Databases A-Z" Link in the top center of the page, above the search box. Then find the database you want in the alphabetical list and connect. Click the icon below to access the Atlas login page.

 

During Atlas outages, click on the icon below to access the library catalog, then follow the instructions above.

 

Google Scholar

Google Scholar Search

Recommended Databases

 

Academic Search Complete is a multi-disciplinary database with access to articles from many disciplines such as Literature, Health, Science, Business, and more.

Applied Science and Technology covers disciplines in the applied science field, such as engineering, technology, and computer science.

Image result for business source complete

Business Source Complete covers all business disciplines, including advertising, marketing, management, and economics.

 

Image result for InfoTrac Communication & Mass Media Complete eCollection (Gale

Communication & Mass Media provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on all aspects of the communications field. Key subjects covered in the database include advertising and public relations, literature and writing, linguistics, etc.

 

GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the environment. Drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health, and technology, GreenFILE serves as an informative resource for anyone concerned about the issues facing our planet.

 

Springer Science+Business Media E-book Publishing Lecture Notes In Computer  Science, PNG, 1200x400px, Springer

Springer eJournal Collection provides full-text access to various topics, including business, life sciences, engineering, psychology, social sciences, and more. Coverage for most titles begins in the late 1990s. 

 

SAGE Journals: Your gateway to world-class research journals

SAGE Journals includes more than 645 journals spanning the Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine.

The Valencia College libraries do not welcome solicitation of resources to be added to our LibGuides. This includes but is not limited to vendors, search engine optimizers, placement of ads, products, or any other requests. Our LibGuides are carefully curated resources developed in partnership with faculty, staff, and students to support specific assignments, courses, events, and other related purposes at Valencia College. The Valencia libraries reserve the right to ignore LibGuide resource solicitations, and/or block persistent requests from groups or individuals to add or promote links in our LibGuides.