Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Plagiarism 101 (Ragland): Library Resources

A guide to help students in Professor Ragland's classes avoid plagiarism when conducting research.

Logging In

To access the library catalog to search for books, videos, eBooks, and electronic videos, log into your Atlas account and click the "Search the Library" link in the upper left corner on the "My Atlas" tab. Once the library catalog opens, you will see the catalog search box in the middle of the page. Type in your keywords to begin a search.

To search for articles, look for the "Databases A-Z" button at the top of the catalog site.

 

Click below to access the Atlas login page.

Databases - Newspaper Articles

America's News Includes full text articles printed in major newspapers across the United States. Access dates may vary by newspaper title.

Florida News Sources - A version of America's News that specifically searches newspapers in Florida.

Orlando Sentinel - Free, full text articles printed daily in the Orlando Sentinel - a great way to get past their web site's paywall!

 

New York Times (Current) - Includes full text articles printed in the New York Times from 1985 to today.

New York Times (Historical) - Includes full text articles printed in the New York Times from 1851 to 2017.

Databases - Streaming Video

Helpful Databases

The general databases below cover a wide variety of different subjects and are helpful regardless of your research topic:

The databases below contain material focused on the subject of political science:

Finding Books and eBooks

To find books or eBooks in the library catalog, click "Advanced Search" to the right of the catalog search bar.


 

 

 

 

 

In the advanced search, type your research topic into the search term box. Then, select "Library Catalog", and set the "Material Type" to Books. Note that this will provide you with both print books and eBooks in your search results.

 

Once your search results load, you will have both print books and eBooks listed in your search results. To limit your catalog search to eBooks, look for the "Availability" limiter on the left side of the page under "Refine Your Results". Clicking on "Available Online" will limit your search results to eBooks which can be accessed online from any location. Note that you may be prompted to log in to your Atlas account again.